Energy Council of Canada


The Energy Council of Canada is committed to a culture of strong corporate governance. The Bylaws fully define the corporate governance structure of the Energy Council, summarized as follows:

Members:  The Energy Council is made up of representatives from all facets of Canada's energy sector - energy producers, energy users, equipment manufacturers, engineering firms, sectoral energy associations, financial organizations, human resource organizations, legal firms, educational institutions, and equally important, federal/provincial/territorial government departments.

Board of Directors:  The Board is responsible for governing and managing the affairs of the Energy Council. The Directors are elected from representatives of the Energy Council Members for a three year term. The Board includes representatives from energy sectoral associations to broaden the perspectives of the Board as well as members with significant positions with the World Energy Council to maximize the communications between the Energy Council of Canada and the World Energy Council. The guiding principle of the Energy Council is for Directors to be active participants in the affairs of the Energy Council.

Executive Committee:  Manages the affairs of the Energy Council between Board Meetings, and provides an opportunity for Members to become more engaged in the Energy Council.

President and Energy Council Secretariat:  The President and Ottawa Headquarters Secretariat provide the day-to-day management of the Energy Council.

Permanent/Standing Committees:  There are a number of Committees that, with the strong engagement of its Members, allow the Energy Council to achieve its objectives through a wide range of noted activities. The composition of the Committees reflects the pan-Canadian and pan-sectoral nature of the Energy Council

  • Programme Committee:  Prime responsibility for the Canadian Energy Summits, the North America Region Energy Forums, Regional Member Forums, Breakfast Roundtables and co-sponsored events, ensuring the content is most appropriate for the occasion.
  • Studies Committee:  Through active participation  in the selection of research studies, and direct participation in executing the studies, Canada has the dual role of focusing on studies lead by the ECC and directly applicable to Canadian stakeholders and policy makers, and contributing to studies with a global focus and lead by WEC.
  • Energy Policy Research Committee:  Mandate of the Committee is to generate new and applicable research on Canadian energy policy. It does this with several Canadian universities and through an Energy Policy Research Plan that coordinates, integrates, stewards and communicates the resulting energy policy research.
  • Membership Committee:  Prime responsibility is to plan and implement the actions required to ensure a strong and growing Energy Council of Canada membership by advancing the value proposition of the Energy Council throughout Canada's energy sector.
  • Nominating Committee:  Responsible for recommending a slate of Directors and Honourary Members.
  • Canadian Energy Person of the Year Committee:  Provides overall oversight on the Canadian Energy Person of the Year process and "branding". This includes reviewing the call-for-nominations package, promoting and soliciting nominations, reviewing the submitted nominations, recommending the Canadian Energy Person of the Year to the Board, and supporting the marketing of the event.